Why I Got My Tubes Tied Before I Turned Thirty

I very much agree with the sentiments of this blog post! While I’ve decided to use at least a few rounds of Mirena, because I really enjoy the lack of periods, I have put serious thought into Essure/Tubal Ligation.

A Feather of Truth

When I first broached the subject of permanent, non-hormonal birth control with my gynecologist, I wasn’t even considering a tubal ligation. (Who elects for her first surgery to be a completely volunteer procedure for a non-life-threatening ailment?) I had originally been trying to decide between the copper IUD and Essure. IUDs (intrauterine devices) are not permanent, but they do last a while. Essure (spring devices that are implanted in your fallopian tubes to cause scarring) is a fairly new procedure that, like an IUD, can be performed in your gyno’s office, but, unlike the IUD, is permanent. I was leaning toward Essure because it was permanent and would only cost an office copay. Until this happened:

“If I were you, I would just get my tubes tied.”

Floored, I asked why.

View original post 1,385 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Got My Tubes Tied Before I Turned Thirty

  1. phoenixasubbie says:

    I applaud you for your honesty. Xx

Leave a Reply

