Almost Paradise

I’m in a production of the musical Footloose, which is a fucking fantastic rockin’ show for anyone who hasn’t seen it. I love The Girl Gets Around because I like to think it’s about me. But Almost Paradise always reminds me of the newest object of my affection, so here is my own version of the song to fit him. ❤

Ren:
I thought that dreams belonged to other men
‘Cuz each time I got close
they’d fall apart again

Ariel:
I feared my heart would beat with married men

Both:
I faced the nights alone,
oh how could I have known
That now I’d be here cuddling with you

Oh, almost paradise, we’re knocking on heaven’s door
Almost paradise, how could we ask for more
I swear that I could look forever in your eyes
Paradise

Ariel:
It seems like life’s meaning’s so hard to find
You’re on this journey too,
You really have a clue

Both:
And all these memories of rainy days
They’re finally looking up,
I’ll work them through with you
Now we hold the future in our hands

Oh, almost paradise, we’re knocking on heaven’s door
Almost paradise, how could we ask for more
I swear that I could look forever in your eyes
Paradise

And in your arms salvation’s not so far away
It’s getting closer, closer every day

Almost paradise, we’re knocking on heaven’s door
Almost paradise, how could we ask for more
I swear that I could look forever in your eyes
Paradise, paradise, paradise

This entry was posted in Poly Songs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Almost Paradise

  1. Pingback: Update on Life | Poly Aphrodite

Leave a Reply

