Poly Rebounding

Is rebounding a thing in polyamory?

One of my best friends just went through a breakup, and even though he has mutual attraction with someone else, he wants to wait until he’s more over his ex before he starts this new relationship.

I have gone through periods of rebounding; I broke up with someone or otherwise had some sort of heartbreak, and then chased every sexy thing I could find. However, I don’t see how that is really a bad thing (in fact, one could potentially classify my boyfriend as one of my rebounds in a matter of speaking)..

Polyamorists believe that love shouldn’t be restricted. While breakups can definitely suck, and can sometimes indeed put you in a frame of mind where it is unlikely any relationship would work until you are a bit more emotionally recovered, these are not really “typical” breakups.

It is commonly said in the monogamous world that you shouldn’t date someone who is freshly out of a relationship. I really don’t understand this. While there is a possibility that it may be more likely that a person freshly out of a relationship is more likely to only want a casual relationship, and the other person wants something more serious; this is merely a bad match. In a good relationship, poly or otherwise, these expectations should be discussed, rather than discovered in a blowup that makes one or both parties forever avoid “rebound” relationships.

It is very nice to have someone to cuddle with after you go through a breakup, whether or not that person has been there for you all along.

What do you think? Is rebounding real? Should it be avoided?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poly Rebounding

  1. I don’t know, I think rebounding might cause me to consider partners I would not normally consider, and that’s dangerous and to be avoided.. but seeking out connection or being open to connection seems like a good thing to me.

Leave a Reply

