I Love Planned Parenthood!

All my life [or at least a part of my subconscious since I was in late high school], I’ve wanted to work in sex. I never wanted to be a prostitute (though to be paid for sex is on my bucket list), but I’ve wanted to be a sex educator of some variety. Even just working in a very sex-positive environment would probably fulfill that need. Finally, when I finished grad school, I signed up to volunteer at Planned Parenthood. Most volunteer opportunities are at a clinic about 45 minutes away from where I live, so that’s not very convenient, but I’m totally willing to drive up there. It feels so great to be able to be open about being poly, and to be helping an organization that has made such strides for helping women over the years!

When I first started volunteering, there weren’t many openings, and I was only able to fill occasional shifts in more “boring” posts. While this still is a great experience, what I really wanted to do was be an educator. I want to share my knowledge of STIs, birth control, and Planned Parenthood services!

Just this week, I was accepted to be both a trainer for new volunteers, and a Planned Parenthood representative to work at booths at fairs and whatnot over the summer! I can’t wait to get started! Whether this leads to a career or not doesn’t necessarily matter, but I will be living my dream of being a real-life sex educator!

I posted this exciting news on my Facebook page, and my dad liked it! My dad was reasonably cool about my being poly (though he knows very little about it), and likes that I’m a sex educator. He’s surprised me in his sex-positivity in the past few months! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Love Planned Parenthood!

  1. Congrats on the opportunity!
    Sounds like this will be a real nitch for you.
    May I ask if you’re a LMSW or an LPC?

  2. No, I’m just a volunteer, and have no social work background.

Leave a Reply

